4. Childhood

“The past is full of life, eager to irritate us, provoke and insult us, tempt us to destroy or repaint it”

~ Milan Kundera (The Book of Laughter and Forgetting)

I grew up in Asia.

Skinny is the norm. Fair is considered beautiful.

I knew/know that I am neither.

In my teens, early 20s, and 30s, when these “stories” were set, I never considered myself the better candidate. There was always someone else that I thought more likely to be liked. Someone slim, someone petite, someone fair, someone pretty.

I always moved in groups, at the very least, there would be 3 of us.

If a love triangle developed, I always assumed, the guy would like the other girl. And since the guy never said anything otherwise, to me, it was obvious that this is true.

I was therefore left with 2 options. Wallow in self-pity or accept that fact and build the best friendship I could. I always chose the latter. After all, friendships last.

Leave a Reply

