10. Between the Darkness & the Dawn

“I envied her, she worried about me”

~ Nadahati

My second sister and I watched this movie on TV many years ago. She was a teenager, four years older.

It was about a girl and her sister. The girl was popular – the typical American popular girl, with a boyfriend and all. The sister lived in her shadow. The girl, got into some sort of accident or something, and was in a coma for many years. When she woke up, she believed she was still a teenager, at the age her accident happened. She learned that in all that time she had been unconscious, the sister married her boyfriend.

After the movie, my sister jokingly warned me not to let that happen between us. At that time, I was not sure what she meant. She was the older sister I looked up to, so I just agreed. What she meant was, I should not steal her boyfriend.

First of all, as I’ve said, she was the sister I looked up to. You should have seen her then – she is somewhat similar even now. You know, as the lyrics of a song goes, she wore high heels, I wore sneakers. In my case, it was more flat pumps. She always looks good. I always have the knack of appearing shabby. I could not fathom why she would think I could possibly steal a guy from her.

While I never actually said it to anyone before, as a teenager, I thought, she would be the ultimate test for any guy I would want to go out with. If they still preferred me over her, then the relationship must be good (and they need a vision test).

The silly thoughts we had when we were young and silly.

Leave a Reply

