15. Where to Next? … A Preamble

“I had written as far as this when Piglet looked up and said in his squeaky voice, “What about me?”. “My dear Piglet,” I said, “the whole book is about you.” … And now all the others are saying, “What about Us?” … So perhaps the best thing to do is to stop writing Introductions and get on with the book.”

~ A. A. Milne (Winne-the-Pooh)

I was thinking which of the other past unspoken interests I should write about next. One of them was technically not “unspoken” and I thought it would be best to leave till later. The other one however… I am not sure I should share about him in the open like this. I don’t know if I could discuss him and still maintain his anonymity.

He is a “close” friend, in that he is still in touch and, not wanting to sound like I am blowing my own trumpet, he might actually (want to) read this. I cannot have him know about this, perhaps for the same reason he has not disclosed the possibility that he might be interested; when we meet again, if either of us doesn’t feel the same as the other, it might make things awkward.

And yet, if he does reciprocate, he is the only one of the unspoken interests that I still stand a chance with. The only one who can come to my rescue.

Of course, it could be that he is not even aware of what I am doing with this blog, in which case, it doesn’t make a difference whether or not anyone can identify him from my ramblings…

Leave a Reply

